Dr. Willis C. Sutliff was awarded the 2021-22 Roger Kozak Service Above Self
Award at the District 5610 celebration conference in Deadwood on the evening
of October 15.  It was presented to him by Rotary Past International Vice President Greg
Podd, PDG Ed Jacobson, and the four former winners of the award.

Sutliff has served District 5610 and it's Rotarians for over ten years as
District 5610 Polio Plus Chair.  During this time he has given interesting
and informative presentations at District Conferences, changing content as
it suits the occasion.  He is passionate about Polio eradication and
enthusiastic about raising funds to defeat the disease.

Willis is a member and past president of Rapid City Rushmore Rotary Club.
He is very active in the club on the International Projects Committee and
has worked hard to encourage Global Grants and Local Grants.  He is
currently serving on the District's the End Human Trafficking Committee. 

He and his wife, PDG Pat Suliff have hosted many Youth Exchange Students
through the years, attended several Rotary International Conferences and
traveled on and hosted several Rotary Friendship Exchanges.  He and Pat are
TRF major donors.

Willis is a retired Pediatrician who practiced for 40 some years in Rapid
City and helped start Black Hills Pediatrics.  As part of the local hospital
board he helped the hospital move forward and add new services. He has a
degree from UC Berkeley in Public Health, spent 3 years in the Army in
Germany and has served on American Academy of Pediatrics Committees.

Over the years,  Willis has been active in his local community through his
church and Habitat for Humanity.  He is currently on the Starting Strong
Board and the YFS Board where he will serve as president in 2022-23.  He
also serves on several YFS committees.

Willis and Pat have 5 children and 10 grandchildren.

Past Kozak Award Winners:

2016-17 - Larry Lyngstad, Pierre-Fort Pierre
2017-18 - George Twitero, Rapid City Rushmore
2018-19 - Pat Sutliff, Rapid City Rushmore
2019-20 - Chuck Lindemann, Marshall
2020-21 - No Award (Covid Pandemic)
2021-22 - Dr. Willis Sutliff, Rapid City Rushmore